The start of 2018 isn’t just another year or another resolution to keep if you are a Californian. As of January 1, 2018, California’s Proposition 63 law has taken effect. As the bill is set to continue to roll-out over the next 18 months, many are questioning what exactly this new law means to them today. So, we’ve compiled a list of the top 10 most frequently asked questions we’ve received here at Lambert Pawn.
California Proposition 63 FAQs
Question 1: Can I still own an assault rifle?
Yes, you can still own an assault rifle. However, you can no longer buy one. The assault rifles you currently own must be registered with the state by June 30, 2018.
Question 2: Can I buy ammunition online?
Yes, but you cannot have the ammunition shipped to your home, or any other personal space. All ammunition purchased online or through a catalog must be shipped to a licensed dealer.
Question 3: What is the limit on how much ammunition I can buy?
There is no limit on the amount of ammo you can buy.
Question 4: What do I do if I buy ammunition out of state?
Don’t. As of January 1, 2018, you can no longer drive ammunition across state lines. Period.
Question 5: Who can I loan my firearm to?
Only immediate family.
Question 6: If I want to sell or give away my own ammunition because I won’t use it, what do I do?
You will need to locate a vendor licensed by the Department of Justice (like Lambert Pawn). The vendor must oversee and conduct the entire process of transferring the ownership of the ammunition.
Question 7: Do I need to pass a background check to purchase ammunition?
Yes. It has long been standard practice to pass a background check to buy a gun. However, as of July 1, 2019, firearm owners will need to pass a background check for every ammunition purchase they make.
Question 8: What about reloading supplies?
Reloading supplies such as bare bullets and empty cartridges do not need to be shipped to a licensed DOJ vendor if bought online. These purchases can still be shipped to personal addresses.
Question 9: What do I do if my gun is lost or stolen?
You must report any instances of lost or stolen firearms within 5 days of the incident. Failing to do so may result in fines of up to $1,000 per occurrence.
Question 10: What is considered an assault weapon?
Assault weapons are now defined in California as “semiautomatic centerfire rifle, or a semiautomatic pistol that does not have a fixed magazine but has any one of those specific attributes.”
While this is our list of most frequently asked questions on Proposition 63, we understand that there are many more questions you may have. As a licensed DOJ vendor, we are happy to help answer those questions at any time. Also, it’s important to note that we are not attorneys and this does not constitute legal advice. We encourage you to always research the laws yourself or consult with a firearms attorney.